Alaska (AK) CPA Exam Requirements

Alaska (AK) CPA Exam Requirements state that you must be declared eligible for the CPA examination and then licensed by the state. An individual becomes eligible for the CPA exam by meeting specific requirements that are determined by the board of accountancy for their specific jurisdiction. Below are the various Alaska CPA Exam requirements:

Alaska CPA Exam Education Requirements

  • Minimum Degree Required: Baccalaureate
  • 150 Semester Hours Required to Sit for the Exam? No
  • Individual is qualified to take the exam if within 18 semester hours of meeting undergraduate educational requirements
  • Degree with an accounting concentration or minimum of 15 semester hours in accounting or one year of public accounting experience
  • Need 150 hours to be granted certificate but do not need 150 to sit for exam.

Alaska CPA Exam Age Requirements

Age Minimum: None

Alaska CPA Exam Residency Requirements:

U.S. Citizenship Required: No

Must be a resident, employee, OR have office in the state? No

Application Process

  1. Review the exam requirements
  2. Submit the exam application + enroll in Surgent CPA Review
  3. Request and forward transcripts. If you meet the educational requirements, submit your application to CPA Examination Services, Alaska Coordinator in Nashville, Tennessee. The application fee will be $175 and the exam fees will be $734.10 for a total of $909.10. Allow up to two weeks from receipt of application, fees and transcripts for processing. You are able to apply for one or more sections of the exam at a time; however, you are advised to only apply for a section of the examination if you are ready to take it within the next six months. Your name on the application should exactly match your name on your driver’s license. You should begin planning to study with Surgent CPA Review.
  4. Pay the exam fees. After receiving the required information, CPA Examination Services will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).  You will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS) which is valid for six months. Since every third month is non-testing, the NTS covers four testing months.
  5. Schedule your exam. Your Notice to Schedule (NTS) allows you to start scheduling your exams. You can sit for the exam parts in any sequence which allows you to plan your review accordingly. The most efficient approach is to sit for two parts in each testing window. Keep in mind, however, exam fees paid for parts that are not taken will not be refunded. Exam times are scheduled with Prometric and can be set up online at www.prometric.com/cpa. You can take the exam at a site in Anchorage, Fairbanks, or any other Prometric location that is convenient to you in any of the other jurisdictions.

Key Exam Process Links for Alaska

Alaska CPA Exam FAQs 

Alaska CPA Application Process

Alaska CPA Application Forms

Alaska CPA Statutes

AICPA

NASBA

State CPA Society

Alaska CPA Exam Fees

Initial Application Fee: $175

Audit: $193.45

Financial: $193.45

Regulation: $173.60

Business: $173.60

Total: $909.10

Other fees: Re-exam registration fees $85 regardless of the number of parts requested.