California (CA) CPA Exam Requirements

California (CA) CPA Exam Requirements state that you must be declared eligible for the exam and then licensed by the state. An individual becomes eligible for the CPA examination by meeting specific requirements that are determined by the board of accountancy for their specific jurisdiction. Below are the California CPA Exam requirements:

California CPA Exam Education Requirements

  • Minimum Degree Required: Baccalaureate
  • 150 Semester Hours Required to Sit for the Exam? No
  • 24 semester units (or 36 quarter) in accounting (educational requirements vary, contact State Board for specific details) and 24 semester units (or 36 quarter) in business-related courses (educational requirements vary, contact State Board for details)
  • Important to note: The requirements shown relate specifically to “applying for” and “taking” the exam. Additional requirements may be in effect relating to “certification” and “licensing”, Please contact the appropriate state board for “certification” and “licensing” requirements. As of January 1, 2014 150 hours are required for licensure

California CPA Exam Age Requirements

Age Minimum: None

California CPA Exam Residency Requirements

U.S. Citizenship Required: No

Must be a resident, employee, OR have office in the state? No

Application Process

  1. Review the exam requirements
  2. Submit the exam application + enroll in Surgent CPA Review
  3. Request and forward transcripts. Contact any educational institutions attended and request that transcripts be forwarded to the California Board of Accountancy for their evaluation. If you do not expect any problems in processing your application, it is a great time to begin your studies with Surgent CPA Review.
  4. Pay the exam fees. After receiving the required information, the State Board will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). You will receive a payment coupon for exam fees totaling $734.10, which must be paid in advance. , which must be paid in advance. Once fees are paid, you will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS) which is good for nine months; however, since every third is non-testing, the NTS covers six testing months.
  5. Schedule your exam. Your NTS allows you to start scheduling your exams. You can sit for the exam parts in any sequence so you can plan your reviews to coincide with your exam scheduling. The most efficient approach is to sit for two parts in each exam window; however, exam fees paid for parts not taken are not refundable. Exam times are scheduled with Prometric and can be set up online at www.prometric.com/cpa. You can take the exam at one of the many sites in California, or any other Prometric location that is convenient to you.

Key Exam Process Links for California

AICPA

NASBA

State CPA Society

California CPA Application Process

California CPA Application Forms

California CPA Statutes

California CPA Exam FAQs

California CPA Exam Fees

Initial Application Fee: $50

Audit: $193.45

Financial: $193.45

Regulation: $173.60

Business: $173.60

Total: $784.10

Other fees: $25 re-examination application fee regardless of the number of parts requested.