Colorado (CO) CPA Exam Requirements

Colorado (CO) CPA Exam Requirements state that you need be declared eligible for the CPA examination and then licensed by the state. An individual becomes eligible for the CPA exam by meeting specific requirements that are determined by the board of accountancy for their specific jurisdiction. Below are the Colorado CPA Exam requirements:

Colorado CPA Exam Education Requirements

  • Minimum Degree Required: Baccalaureate
  • 150 Semester Hours Required to Sit for the Exam? No, 120 semester hours
  • 27 semester hours in non-duplicative Accounting coursework, including 3 hours in auditing. Of the 27 hours, 21 must be above the introductory level.
  • 21 semester hours of non-duplicative Business coursework, of which 12 hours must be above the introductory level. No more than 6 hours can be from a single subject area.

Colorado CPA Exam Age Requirements

Age Minimum: None

Colorado CPA Exam Residency Requirements:

U.S. Citizenship Required: No

Must be a resident, employee, OR have office in the state? No

Application Process

  1. Review the exam requirements
  2. Submit the exam application + enroll in Surgent CPA Review
  3. Request and forward transcripts. Contact any educational institutions attended and request that transcripts be forwarded to the CPA Examination Services for their evaluation. If you do not expect any problems in processing your application it is best to make plans to start studying with Surgent CPA Review at this time.
  4. Pay the exam fees. After receiving the required information, CPA Examination Services will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). You will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS) which is good for six months; however, since every third is non-testing, the NTS covers four testing months.
  5. Schedule your exam. Your NTS allows you to start scheduling your exams. You can sit for the exam parts in any sequence so you can plan your reviews to coincide with your exam scheduling. The most efficient approach is to sit for two parts in each exam window; however, exam fees paid for parts not taken are not refundable. Exam times are scheduled with Prometric and can be set up online at www.prometric.com/cpa. You can take the exam at a site in Colorado Springs, Grand Junction, Greenwood Village, Longmont, or any other Prometric location that is convenient to you.

Requirements to Obtain Colorado Licensure

-Minimum 150 semester hours of education

-33 semester hours of non-duplicative Accounting course work, including 6 hours in auditing, and 3 hours (or more) in accounting ethics. Of 33 hours, 27 hours must be above the introductory level

-27 hours of non-duplicative Business coursework, including 3 hours in business, technical or accounting communications. Of the 27 hours, 18 hours must be above the introductory level

Pass the Ethics Exam

-Requirements: 1 year of work experience, including 1,800 hours that are verified by an actively licensed CPA

Key Exam Process Links for Colorado

Colorado CPA Exam FAQs

Colorado CPA Application Process

Colorado CPA Application Forms

Colorado CPA Statutes

AICPA

NASBA

State CPA Society

Colorado CPA Exam Fees

Initial Application Fee: $150

Audit: $193.45

Financial: $193.45

Regulation: $173.60

Business: $173.60

Total: $884.10

Other fees: Re-exam registration fees $75 regardless of the number of parts requested.