Mississippi (MS) CPA Exam Requirements

Mississippi (MS) CPA Exam Requirements state that you must be declared eligible for the exam and then licensed by the state. A candidate becomes eligible for the CPA examination by meeting specific requirements that are determined by the board of accountancy for their specific jurisdiction. Below are the various Mississippi CPA Exam requirements:

Mississippi CPA Exam Education Requirements

  • Minimum Degree Required: Baccalaureate
  • 150 Semester Hours Required to Sit for the Exam? Yes
  • Minimum of 24 semester hours in upper division or graduate level accounting and Minimum of 24 hours in upper division or graduate level business related courses
  • Mississippi specifies the courses for 15 of the 24 accounting hours required
  • Baccalaureate with 150 semester hours, except when proctored by another jurisdiction.

Mississippi CPA Exam Age Requirements

Age Minimum: None

Mississippi CPA Exam Residency Requirements

-U.S. Citizenship Required: No
-Must be a resident, employee, OR have office in the state? Yes

Application Process

1. Review the exam requirements

2. Submit the exam application + enroll in Surgent CPA Review

3. Request and forward transcripts. Contact any educational institutions attended and request that transcripts be forwarded to the State Board for their evaluation. If no application issues are expected, now is a great time to start studying with Surgent CPA Review.

4. Pay the exam fees. After receiving the required information, the State Board will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). You will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS) which is good for six months; however, since every third month is non-testing, the NTS covers four testing months.

5. Schedule your exam. Your NTS allows you to start scheduling your exams. You can sit for the exam parts in any sequence so you can plan your reviews to coincide with your exam scheduling. The most efficient approach is to sit for two parts in each exam window; however, exam fees paid for parts not taken are not refundable. Exam times are scheduled with Prometric and can be set up online at www.prometric.com/cpa. You can take the exam at a site in Jackson, Tupelo, or any other Prometric location that is convenient to you.

Key Exam Process Links for Mississippi

Mississippi CPA FAQs

Mississippi CPA Application Process

Mississippi CPA Application Forms

Mississippi CPA Statutes

Mississippi CPA Exam FAQs

AICPA

NASBA

State CPA Society

Mississippi CPA Exam Fees

Initial Application Fee: $150

Audit: $192.03

Financial: $192.03

Regulation: $172.51

Business: $172.51

Total: $879.08

Please note: Re-exam registration fee (varying amounts based on number of parts)