Rhode Island (RI) CPA Exam Requirements

Rhode Island (RI) CPA Exam Requirements state that you must be declared eligible for the exam and then licensed by the state. A candidate becomes eligible for the CPA examination by meeting specific requirements that are determined by the board of accountancy for their specific jurisdiction. Below are the various Rhode Island CPA Exam requirements:

Rhode Island CPA Exam Education Requirements

  • Minimum Degree Required: Baccalaureate
  • 150 Semester Hours Required to Sit for the Exam? No
  • Baccalaureate with 150 hours with 24 hours in accounting and 24 hours of general business or Graduate degree with concentration in accounting or Graduate degree with 15 semester hours in graduate level accounting or 24 hours in accounting at the undergrad level
  • A candidate not meeting the 150 hours may sit having completed 120 semester hours or having met one of the conditions under the 150 hour requirement
  • Baccalaureate with 150 hours or Graduate with 150 hours or special 120 hour rule to sit for the exam.
  • Need 150 hours to be granted certificate but do not need 150 to sit for exam.

Rhode Island CPA Exam Age Requirements

Age Minimum: None

Rhode Island CPA Exam Residency Requirements

-U.S. Citizenship Required: No
-Must be a resident, employee, OR have office in the state? Yes

Application Process

1. Review the exam requirements

2. Submit the exam application + enroll in Surgent CPA Review

3. Request and forward transcripts. Contact any educational institutions attended and request that transcripts be forwarded to CPA Examination Services for their evaluation. If you do not expect any problems in processing your application, this is a great time to start studying with Surgent CPA Review.

4. Pay the exam fees. After receiving the required information, CPA Examination Services will issue your Authorization to Test (ATT) to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA). You will receive a Notice to Schedule (NTS) which is good for six months; however, since every third is non-testing, the NTS covers four testing months.

5. Schedule your exam. Your NTS allows you to start scheduling your exams. You can sit for the exam parts in any sequence so you can plan your reviews to coincide with your exam scheduling. The most efficient approach is to sit for two parts in each exam window; however, exam fees paid for parts not taken are not refundable. Exam times are scheduled with Prometric and can be set up online at www.prometric.com/cpa. You can take the exam at a site in Warwick or any other Prometric location that is convenient to you.

Key Exam Process Links for Rhode Island

Rhode Island CPA Application Process

Rhode Island CPA Application Forms

Rhode Island CPA Statutes

Rhode Island CPA Exam FAQs

AICPA

NASBA

State CPA Society

Rhode Island CPA Exam Fees

Initial Application Fee: $150

Audit: $193.45

Financial: $193.45

Regulation: $173.60

Business: $173.60

Total: $884.10

Other fees: Re-exam registration fee (varying amounts based on number of parts)